Thursday, 31 March 2016

Ipswich C are League Champions!

The first division in the Suffolk League to complete all its fixtures is Division 1.   And the Champions, by just a single point, are Ipswich C.

Their squad consists of Ian Wallis (190), Mike Cook (189), Silas Peck (176) and Ted Matthewson (capt.) (166).   Both Mike and Silas played in all 12 matches.   In all, only three substitutions were needed, when Ted Matthewson (twice) and Ian Wallis (once) were unable to play.   Indeed, this has been an outstanding feature of the Ipswich C team: their ability to field a regular team.   They were unbeaten throughout the season, winning nine and drawing three matches.

Individual playing records were:

Silas Peck   8½ / 12   (71%)
Ted Matthewson   7 / 10   (70%)
Ian Wallis   7 / 11   (64%)
Mike Cook   6 / 12   (50%)

Runners-up, by just one point, were Manningtree A, who were only able to field their strongest team (including Adam Taylor and Andy Lewis) on four occasions.

To view the final league table, click here.


  1. Bob, Ipswich C team is one that I play for but am not captain of! That honour goes to Ted.

  2. Ted Matthewson1 April 2016 at 18:23

    Bob, Thanks for the write-up. As Ian points out, I am the C team captain. Also the scores for Ian and Mike Cook are incorrect. Ian scored 7/11 and Mike scored 6/12

  3. Corrections made. Apologies!


Please feel free to add your comments on this subject.