Friday, 7 April 2017

Illegal move rule

Richard Doyle reports on his game (as Black) on Board 3 in the Felixstowe B vs Saxmundham C match last week.   In the position below, Richard was on less than five minutes, whilst his opponent (Mark Nevison) was on 20 minutes.

Mark now attempted Kc6.   An illegal move.   What happens now?   Richard thought there was some sort of penalty, and sure enough, one of the Saxmundham players knew the rule (shown below).   So two minutes were added to Richard's clock and play resumed.   The game continued for a few more moves until Richard offered a draw as he was then down to three minutes.   He didn't fancy his chances of forcing the win before losing on time.

Richard says, "Maybe if the Suffolk League can go ahead with incremental timings (see here) we could avoid these uncomfortable compromises?

According to the FIDE Laws of Chess, the first completed illegal move is penalised by awarding the opponent two additional minutes on the clock.   The second completed illegal move by the same player results in the loss of the game, unless the position is such that it is impossible for the opponent to win by any series of legal moves (e.g. if the opponent has a bare king) in which case the game is drawn.   A move is completed when it has been made and the player has pressed the clock.   In rapid chess and blitz chess, the first completed illegal move results in a loss.

PS.   I was also unaware of the 10.2 rule whereby team captains have to rule on a potentially drawn position where one player has less than two minutes left on their clock and claims a draw because his opponent is not attempting to win by normal means.   Do all team captains in the Suffolk League know this rule?"

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to add your comments on this subject.